Elemental: How to play (Page Five)

Help contents


Moving piles into empty spaces.

After the twelfth move in our example game, the cards look like this:

The black square represents a pile with no cards in it. What can you do with an empty pile? Well, one thing you can do is place a spare on it (just like on any other pile).

Another thing is this. You can move any pile in the tableau to an adjacent empty space, just by sliding it across. Piles can be adjacent in any of four directions (not diagonally) and of course you can't move them outside of the tableau. Such a move is a manipulation.

To do so online, select the pile to move, choose "Move pile in compass direction", and use the compass to show which way you wish to move it. For example: (move #13 in the example game)

Here's the result of that move:


Transferring cards within extremities

We've almost finished - there is only one rule that I haven't explained yet.

Earlier I explained what BLOCKS and CROSSES are useful for, but I haven't yet told you what's important about EXTREMITIES.

Well, suppose a given extremity contains one pile with cards, and one pile that's empty. In that case, you can pick up the top card from the pile with cards, and place it on the empty pile. This is a manipulation.

To do so online, select the pile whose top card you wish to transfer, and choose "Transfer top card within extremity". For example: (move #22 from the example game)

Here's the result of that move:

That's all, folks. I've explained all of the rules now. Remember, you win when the discard pile contains all 52 cards.

I encourage you to read through the example game for some useful strategy tips, but you may like to play the game a few times first.


Previous page